Things I am Thankful For – June 2016

Things I am Thankful For – June 2016

It’s time for another edition of “Random Things Amy is Thankful For”

Finding Dory

Note: What follows is spoiler-free, for anyone who hasn’t had a chance to see the movie yet 🙂

My family has been fans of Dory from Finding Nemo ever since the first movie came out. We were all really excited when Pixar announced that a sequel was in the works. I knew immediately that I would want to see it in the theater. To put things in perspective, I personally see an average of one or two movies a year in theaters.

My sister is a huge Dory fan. She discovered a special showing of Finding Dory for opening night, and talked the family in to going to see it together. The showing was called “Dory After Dark,” which was a double feature of Finding Nemo and Finding Dory. It started at 9 pm Thursday night. It started at 9 pm, and ended a little after 1 am.

Finding Dory is a really good movie. The movie flashes back to Dory as a very young fish, and baby Dory is possibly one of the cutest things from any Pixar movie, ever. I recommend it to anyone who is a fan of kids movies.

Father’s Day – Part 1

We have plans next week to officially celebrate Father’s Day (more on that later). However, we decided at the last minute that not even trying to get together with my parents on Father’s Day was lame. We kept it pretty low key, but it was still really fun. We grilled hot dogs and watched a movie off of a DVD. My parents recently put in a fire pit, so we roasted S’mores. That was really fun.

Our official plans for Father’s Day are to go to a Quakes game next Sunday. For those who aren’t familiar with the Quakes, they are the minor league team for the Dodgers. My dad is a big baseball fan. The advantage of a minor league baseball game is that the stadium is a lot smaller, and it is a lot more affordable to get a really good seat. We have seats on the rail, a little over halfway along the first base line, and I don’t feel like I broke the bank for four tickets.

Leave a Reply

