Easter Week in the Day Family

Easter Week in the Day Family

This weekend marked Chris and I’s first Easter as a married couple.

Wednesday night we were with the Awana Cubbies (preschoolers) as usual. Our lesson was on the resurrection, and their memory verse was 1 Corinthians 15:4: “…and that he rose again, the third day, according to the Scriptures.” I told the kids that the lesson and verse were the most important lesson and verse of the entire year.

On Friday, Chris and I attended a Good Friday service at church. It turned out to be mostly a time of worship, and as such there was no childcare for the littler kids. Instead, they were in service with their parents. One of the Cubbies was sitting with his parents in the same pew as Chris and I. When a speaker giving a short message read the first part of 1 Corinthians 15, including verse 4, I leaned over to him and whispered “That was our verse from this week! I told you it was important!” After service, I saw a few other Cubbies and reinforced the importance of that week’s memory verse with them as well.

Saturday morning Chris and I got to help run a booth passing out gospel tracts at a city Easter Egg Hunt. Once that event finished, we headed over to my parents’ house. There we met with my sister and her husband, along with her husband’s parents and brother. Everybody brought snacks to share, and we watched the Peanuts movie. None of us had gotten to see it yet, and I thought it was really cute.

Sunday Chris and I were at church on Sunday morning. Then we headed over to my Aunt and Uncle’s house for Easter dinner. Pretty much all of my family on my Dad’s side was there, except for my brother who opted to stay on campus this weekend and do homework, and a cousin who has moved out of state. It was fun to get to spend time with family, especially extended family who I hadn’t gotten to see in a while.

Overall, it was a good week and I look forward to many Easter weeks to come for Chris and I.

Leave a Reply

