2015 Reflective

2015 Reflective

I have so much to be thankful from the events of 2015. For me, 2014 closed with my then-boyfriend Chris proposing three days before Christmas. That precipitated a chain of events (and changes) in my life, which led to a very exciting 2015.

February-May 2015 – Changing churches

During our courtship, Chris and I attended different churches about a 45 min drive apart from each other. Once we were engaged, Chris and I determined that, due to geography, his church would need to be our home. I knew that marriage would be bringing enough changes all on its own, and that anything I could do to ease and separate out the transitions would make my life easier in the long run. With that in mind, I began transitioning churches early in the year. I requested to step out of the ministries I was involved in on Sunday mornings, and began attending Chris’ church with an increasing frequency. This change was hard in that I had attended my previous church since 2nd grade, and it was pretty much the only church I had ever known. One thing that helped was that my pastor had spoken highly of the pastor of Chris’ church for many years, so I knew going in that it was a good, Bible teaching church. The church had a different culture than I was used to. That wasn’t (and isn’t) a bad thing, but it took time to get used to. One thing that really helped was to look for things that I really enjoyed. I relished in hearing special music every week, and in singing mostly hymns every other week. The hymns surprised me – I had rejoiced when my previous church slowly transitioned from hymns to praise choruses. Yet there was something about singing hymns that I found myself deeply enjoying.

August 1, 2015 – Wedding!

On August 1st, Chris and I got married! (I feel like I should say more, but I think that is somewhat what this blog is about in general, so I will leave it at that for now 🙂 )

The honeymoon was pretty cool, too.

August 2015 – Moving

In getting married, I moved in with my husband (obviously). This was new for me in that I had never moved in my entire life. My parents bought a house a year before I was born, and they are still living there. I had the same bedroom from the time I was two until I moved out. In some ways it was fun, deciding where I wanted to store things – but from a completely fresh perspective. I got to set up a kitchen for the first time. Special kudos go to Chris for letting me slightly re-arrange the studio apartment he owns (and completely re-arrange the kitchen). Chris also owns a house which is literally next door, so I know I will be moving again once our family grows.

September 2015 – Cubbies

I have long had a place in my heart for children’s ministry in general, and the AWANA program in particular. For many years, I have worked with the “Sparks” group (Kindergarten through 2nd graders). I felt I had that age group down pat. Coming to a new church, I learned that where they really needed help was with the “Cubbies” group – preschoolers. The slight intimidation that came with my willingness to serve turned to a mix of fear and panic when I got asked to be the director and run the club. Thanks to some very helpful and much-needed advice (shout-out to Kelly for those who know him!) and my hardworking leaders, the club seems to be running well.

Holidays 2015 – New family celebrations

The Thanksgiving/Christmas/New Years holidays brought a new dynamic of sharing time between my and Chris’ family that was slightly different from 2014 when we were dating/newly engaged. It was fun to spend time with a much-expanded family, and I look forward to many more holiday celebrations to come.

 

All told, 2015 was a year in which I had a lot of changes, but so much to be thankful for. I look forward to the excitement that I expect 2016 to bring.

Leave a Reply

