Why a blog? / 2016 Goals

Why a blog? / 2016 Goals

I am not a writer. I am an engineer. Why, then, have I chosen to write a blog?

Well, there are a few reasons for me to write a blog. One is that I have liked the idea of blogs for a while, and have wondered what it would be like to have one. I decided that this would be the year that I give it a try – see what keeping a blog is like, and if I enjoy doing so.

The second reason for me to blog ties into what I intend as my main content source. Every year, I hear the idea that one should write down everything that you have to be thankful for, as things come up during the year, and place them into a jar or other container. Then, at the end of the year, you can read through those items and remember all of the blessings that God has given you through the previous year. I tried it one year – and lasted about two or three weeks. I intend this blog to be an electronic “Thankfulness Jar” – a reason to sit down at regular intervals and recount what I have to be thankful for. That is not to say that everything that happens in life is happy in and of itself, but rather that I want to look for the good in everything that happens, even if that good is simply a good memory of something that has been lost.

The final reason for me to blog is, I will admit, somewhat silly. In short, I am going to write a blog this year because I can. Although not a writer by trade, the education I received is such that I have an ability to communicate which I do not often use. Writing a blog will give me the opportunity to exercise that skill.

Writing this blog is one of my goals for 2016. The other (since I expect to mention it from time to time) is to run a 5K. My reasoning for that is, again, that I can – although the exercise I will get both from the race itself and even more from the training I know I will need to get there will be a welcome side benefit.

So, there you have it – my goals for 2016, and why I am writing a blog. My goal is to post every other Tuesday. See you then!

Leave a Reply

